Githubbing the GeoPackage specification

In the past few months one of the main things I’ve spent time on is the new GeoPackage specification being worked on within the OGC. I was involved in the very early days of the conception, before it was picked up for the OWS-9 testbed, as I feel it has the potential to fill a big hole in the geospatial world (James Fee sums up my feelings nicely). We discussed keeping it super lean, accessible to all, and implementable by non-GIS experts.

While I got wrapped up in other things a spec for public comment popped out in January, which I felt had strayed from what I believed were the original core design goals. I sent a huge missive on all the changes I felt could get it back to that lean core. I try to never be one to just criticize though, as it’s easy to cast stones and much harder to build something that is strong enough to hold up to others pelting rocks. And my open source roots teach me that a criticism without offering to put in effort to the alternative is close to worthless. So I decided to join the GeoPackage ‘Standards Working Group’, participating in weekly (and then twice a week) calls, and trying to work with the OGC workflow of wikis and massive Word documents.

One of my main goals was to learn about how the OGC process actually works, and hopefully from a place of knowledge be able to offer some suggestions for improvement from my open source software experience. That’s worth a whole post on its own, so I’ll hold off on much of that for now.

OGC staff has also been great about being open to new ways of working. It’s had to be balanced against actually getting the specification out, as many agencies need it ‘yesterday’. But we achieved an OGC first, putting this version of the specification out on GitHub. My hope is to attract developers who are comfortable with GitHub, who won’t need to learn the whole OGC feedback process just to suggest changes and fixes.

I do believe the specification is ‘pretty good’ – it has improved in almost all the ways I was hoping it would (Pepijn and Keith drove the tech push to ‘simpler’, with Paul doing a great job as Editor and Raj from OGC helping out a bunch). I do believe GeoPackage can improve even more, primarily by feedback from real implementations. My hope is it does not go to version 1.0 without 3 full implementations. That don’t just handle one part of the document, but implement all the core options (particularly Tiles and Features).

For the OGC this is an experiment, so if you do think OGC specifications could benefit by a more open process you can help encourage them by spending some of your technical brainpower on improving GeoPackage using GitHub (big shout out to Even who already has a bunch of suggestions in). Fork the spec and make Pull Requests, on core tech decisions or on editorial tweaks that make it easier to understand. For those without GitHub experience we wrote some tips on how to contribute without needing to figure out git). We also tried to add a mechanism for ‘extensions‘ to encourage innovations on the GeoPackage base, so I’d also love to see attempts to use that and extend for things like Styles (SLD or CSS), Rasters, UTFGrids and Photo Observations.

And if you can’t fully implement it but are interested in integrating, I do encourage you to check out the Apache licensed libgpkg implementation from Luciad. Pepijn has been the technical core of GeoPackage, researching what’s come before and continually building code to test our assumptions. Libgpkg is the result of his work, and the most complete implementation. Justin also has a GeoTools implementation and GeoServer module built on it for the Java crowd. And hopefully someone will implement for GDAL/OGR and PostGIS soon.

As always I’ve written too much before I’ve even said all I wanted to. But I will try to do at least one follow up blog post to dig in to some of the details of GeoPackage. I and the SWG welcome an open dialog on the work done and where to take it next. And I’m happy to explain the thinking that got the spec to where it is, since we wanted to keep the spec itself slim and not include all that detail. We are hoping to eventually publish some ‘best practice’ papers that can dig in to ideas we considered yet discarded as not quite ready.

One thought on “Githubbing the GeoPackage specification

  1. Pingback: Spatialite and GeoPackage | Into The Pudding

Leave a Reply

